Erasing Automation suggestion/fix on new BETA

I posted this in a comment but thought it might be easier if I made a post:

If I could make one request before this firmware makes its way into release candidate status - could we return “ERASE + PAD” to simply erase everything in MIDI track mode, both CCs and Notes? I am happy to have the option to erase just CC messages or just notes, but I have built up a whole live show “flow” of being able to quickly clear MIDI tracks and it would be awesome to keep that.

Perhaps it could be “ERASE + long press PAD” to pop up the additional options (CC etc) for erasing on MIDI tracks? That seems like a simple enough fix to not break people’s muscle memory too much.

Cheers!

Avery

Oh - one more note. The new ERASE + PAD behavior on sample tracks is also a strange hiccup - it feels like it also needs to be either a long-press or a track setting or a SHIFT function or something.

On both sample tracks and MIDI it also is strange that you get this extra pop up every time you try to delete, even when there is no automation of any kind to clear.

Just one persons thoughts, but I’m a freak for ergonomics and workflow optimization! :sweat_smile:

1 Like

I answered the other thread, but this one is probably the better place for a discussion. Maybe I’m misunderstanding, but there’s already an All option on Pad Erase, which is the default, so the workflow is identical to the old firmware (it was deliberately done that way).

It’s just an additional click for no reason, even if there is no CC or automation recording that has taken place. It’s a small thing, but I have to clear like 6-8 tracks at a time while performing live - so having an extra click per track is pretty rough. I would love to have the “NOTES, CC or ALL” be a long press of PAD + ERASE and a quick press would be the same as the current behavior (clearing all sequence data on the track).

I just think it would smooth things out in general - or we could select what ERASE does in the track menu to give people choice. I know it’s a specific use case, but I have been using this ERASE behavior for literally years now haha

1 Like

Ah I see. I’m guessing you have “More popups” disabled, which would eliminate the pop-up that appeared when you Erase+Pad. Now you’re getting a pop-up regardless. I see the problem.

1 Like

Yeah, exactly! Maybe it could be slotted into the “more pop-ups” group so people could choose whether or not you want to see them by default? I also think there are not that many times where people wanna just delete notes and keep the automation, etc. Most of the time, I feel like the S2400 encourages you to just delete and re-do the take, or overdub, and the automation seems to encourage the same thing with the live overwriting of automation passes. Thanks for trying to understand! I know it’s sorta small, but it matters a LOT when you’re onstage doing live improvised dance music - no other sequencer I know can delete tracks as fast as the S2400 and that’s part of the reason I have kept it as a the centerpiece of my live rig for years.

Cheers!

1 Like

Will have you covered in the next beta :+1:

2 Likes

Thanks dude! I really appreciate it. Small things like that can really help keep muscle memory on a device I love. :folded_hands:

1 Like

Here you go: S2400 BETA Firmware Aug 2026 :+1:

1 Like

You guys are legends!!! Thanks for being so quick with a fix - can’t wait to give this a spin.

1 Like